top of page

 Race Chaser Blog Presented By 

DRC logo.png
Blog Posts-PostPg

Thank you to our supporting sponsors

  • tombergie01

Vogel Wins Steffes Tour Thriller; Zender Takes 2 at I-94

Updated: Jul 18, 2021

Justin Vogel in victory lane (Photo provided by Benji Froemke)

The Steffes Street Stock Tour has produced many fantastic finishes over the past two years, and Friday at I-94 was no exception.

Justin Vogel of Brooten pulled a last lap pass of tour point leader Parker Anderson of Phillips, Wis., to pick up the win. It was quite a night at I-94, as Wissota Super Stock rookie Jake Froemke of International Falls picked up a big win.

It was a great night for Sam Zender at I-94 Sure Step Speedway on Friday. The Fergus Falls driver picked up the win in the Viessman Late Models and also won his first Wissota Midwest Modified feature of the season.

I-94 owner Don Shaw made it clear at a pit meeting earlier this season he doesn’t like B mains — hence the reason all 32 streets in attendance started the feature. 22 of the 32 starters finished.

Kyle Dykhoff of Starbuck led early in the street stock feature but Anderson, with six tour wins this season, again got the front. Vogel went for broke on the final lap with the slider and made it stick to pick up his second tour win of the season.

Anderson settled for second with Dykhoff taking a solid third. Ryan Satter of Dent, the season point leader at I-94, was fourth ahead of Hunter Carter of Fargo fifth. Jeff Ekdahl earned Hard Charger honors in the Wissota Street Stocks, taking 11th after starting 28th.

Zender started way back in 15th in the Wissota Midwest Modified feature and worked to the front to pick up the win. Brendan Blascyk of Kensington was the hard charger, coming from 21st to second; however, I learned later he was disqualified in post-race inspection.

Jeff Nelson of Perham ended up second and Reise Stenberg of Argusville had a good run, taking third.

What a run for Michelle Hutt of Brandon, who according to my research, picked up her first top five in a Wissota Midwest Modified by taking fourth. Tanner Theis of New Rockford was fifth.

Zender started seventh in the Viessman Late Model feature but got to the front and held off three-time I-94 champion Ben Wolden of Fergus Falls for the feature win. Wolden, who is on his way to a fifth straight track title at I-94, settled for second. Larry Samuelson of Erhard had his best run of the year, taking third, ahead of Zack Tysdal of Fergus Falls and Nick Thoreson of Ft. Ransom.

Froemke started the super stock feature in eighth — keep in mind that is Jason Cook’s former car — and got to the front to pick up the win, his second in a super stock. He won at Bemidji earlier this season.

Behind him in second was multi-time national champion Dave Mass of East Bethel. Ryan Flaten of Madison, Josh Zimpel of Braham and Trevor Saurer of Dalton rounded out the top five.

Kevin Youngquist is having his best year in the Short Trackers, taking his fifth straight win. The bounty on him will grow another week. He started eighth on the grid. Devin Goulet of Fargo was second, Zach Kort of Fergus Falls was third, Hunter Goulet of Fargo fourth and Shawn Beto of Wahpeton fifth. Youngquist has seven wins this season, including a win Thursday at Norman County Raceway.

Only four drivers have won Viessman Late Model features at I-94 this year — Wolden (six), Zender (three), Brad Staples of Herman (one) and Ryan Mikkelson of Alexandria (one).

Erb Wins WOO Late Model Show at River Cities

Dennis Erb Jr. won the World of Outlaw Late Model feature Friday night at River Cities Speedway. A total of 30 lates were on hand at the 3/10-mile bullring.

Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., was second, Ryan Gustin was third, Cade Dillard fourth and Brandon Sheppard fifth. Brad Seng of Grand Forks was the top local finisher, taking seventh ahead of Joey Pederson of East Grand Forks.

Austin Pierce of Grand Forks picked up the Buffalo Wild Wing NOSA Sprint Car feature win over Jade Hastings of Grand Forks. Mark Dobmeier of Grand Forks was third, Wade Nygaard of Grand Forks was fourth and Brendan Mullen of Grand Forks was fifth.

Tucker Pederson of East Grand Forks won the Wissota Street Stock feature over defending track champion Ryan Johnson of Carlsbad. Aaron Blacklance of Thief River Falls was third, Dan Aberle of Finley fourth and John Halvorson of Warren fifth.

272 views0 comments
bottom of page