Race Chaser Blog Presented By 

 
 
  • tombergie01

Steffes Street Stock Tour Set for Bigger and Better 2021




The Steffes Street Stock tour announced its schedule this week. It’s a terrific schedule, and one that builds on the successes the tour had during its inaugural year in 2020. Keep in mind, the tour was successful in spite of the Covid-10 pandemic that restricted crowds at many tracks.

There are 20 races, spanning across four states, at 16 different tracks on the 2021 tour.. Returning tracks include I-94 Sure Step Speedway, Viking Speedway, Brown County Speedway, Jamestown Speedway, Sheyenne Speedway, River Cities Speedway, Devils Lake Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, KRA Speedway, Madison Speedway and Casino Speedway.

New tracks include Greenbush Race Park, Granite City Motor Park (Sauk Rapids, Minn.), Fiesta City Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway and historic Cedar Lake Speedway.

I-94 will host three events, while Viking and River Cities will host two apiece.

The top 12 finishes will count towards the point championship in 2021. Last year’s winner, Jonny Carter of Lisbon, was determined by a tiebreaker as he and Eric Riley of Morris dueled down to the final lap.

Tour director Benji Froemke, who has done an outstanding job building this tour, along with using input from drivers, informed me the pay at each show, from places first through 12th, will increase. There will be a point fund once again at the end.

The 20-race tour could have been bigger, as several tracks requested a date, but Froemke said they wanted to keep the tour at 20 so some were turned down. 20 seems like a good number to me.

Here are some of the numbers from last year’s tour:

—419 cars entered over 15 races

—155 different drivers

—average car count was 28

—high car count was 36

—eight different winners

The opening show is at I-94 Sure Step Speedway on May 28. Viking Speedway will host a doubleheader on May 29-30.

What I liked most about the tour, as a fan, was the quality of racing. These drivers raced hard against each other each night, often down to the final few feet, without wrecking a lot of equipment. There was a great camaraderie among the drivers, too, and some new friendships were formed.

2021 looks even bigger and better for the Steffes Street Stock Tour.


Friday, May 28

I-94 Sure Step Speedway, Fergus Falls


Saturday, May 29

Viking Speedway, Alexandria


Sunday, May 30

VIKING SPEEDWAY



Friday, June 11

Brown County Speedway, Aberdeen


Saturday, June 12

Jamestown Speedway


Sunday, June 13

Sheyenne Speedway, Lisbon, ND



Friday, June 18

River Cities Speedway, Grand Forks


Saturday, June 19

Devils Lake Speedway



Friday, July 2

River Cities Speedway


Saturday, July 3

Greenbush Race Park



Saturday, July 10

Ogilvie Raceway


Sunday, July 11

Granite City Motor Park, Sauk Rapids, Miinn.



Friday, July 16

I-94 Sure Step Speedway


Saturday, July 17

I-94 Sure Step Speedway



Thursday, July 22

KRA Speedway, Willmar, Minn.


Friday, July 23

Fiesta City Speedway, Montevideo, Minn.


Saturday, July 24

Madison Speedway


Sunday, July 25

Casino Speedway, Watertown, SD



Friday, July 30

Red Cedar Speedway, Menomonie, Wis.


Saturday, July 31

Cedar Lake Speedway, New Richmond, Wis.

434 views0 comments

Thank you to our supporting sponsors

mason logo.png