top of page

 Race Chaser Blog Presented By 

DRC logo.png
Blog Posts-PostPg

Thank you to our supporting sponsors

  • tombergie01

Schulz Wins 2nd Straight at RRVS; 1st Career Win for Johanson; Thoennes, Gronwold, Weight Stay Hot

RaceChaser was a paid spectator at the World of Outlaw Sprint Show at Red River Valley, so this will be more of an editorial piece. I figured if I paid $40 to SLS Promotions, might as well offer an opinion.

28 WOO Sprints were on hand along with 17 IMCA Stock Cars. In spite of some spacing restrictions the crowd was excellent. And I got my fever checked and fill out a Covid questionnaire before I was allowed into the pits.

Kyle Larson competed the North Dakota sweep with a World of Outlaw Sprint Car win. Larson started fourth and had a great battle with Brad Sweet before taking over the lead and winning by .852 seconds. Sheldon Haudenschild was third, Kerry Madsen fourth and James McFadden fifth. Local favorite Donny Schatz of Fargo finished seventh.

Larson was fired from his NASCAR ride last spring after using a racial slur. There is no disputing his talent driving a race car, however.

The area finisher was Jade Hastings of Grand Forks, who finished 18th. Sammy Swindell, the long-time WOO star who was driving Mark Dobmeier’s #13 machine, finished 16th, one lap down. Dobmeier is out recovering from a serious back injury he suffered in early July.

Normally the IMCA Stock Cars put on a good, clean race at RRVS. This was not one of those nights. Instead it was a caution-filled mess that saw only eight of the 17 starters finish.

Rick Schulz of Horace started on the pole but it was far from the dominant win he had on Friday at RRVS. In fact, he was passed early by Rob VanMil of Barnesville. Schulz kept right on VanMil’s tail as the laps progressed.

After another caution (I lost track after five), VanMil appeared to lose a motor driving down the backstretch. Most every one missed him except Mike Anderson of Walcott, who was coming full speed and hit the rear of VanMil’s machine, damaging the #18 machine on the front.

Billy Michaelsohn of Fargo, looking for his first IMCA Stock Car win, assumed the lead with Schulz second. Travis Robertson of Moorhead, who went to the tail early in the race after a spin, was back in the top three as well.

Schulz passed Michaelsohn for the lead and Robertson moved back into second. Schulz picked up his second win in as many nights with Robertson second. Michaelsohn had an excellent run to take third ahead of Todd Heinrich of Fargo and Andrew Jochim of Glyndon.

What a week to forget for VanMil. He was leading the IMCA Modified feature Thursday at Norman County Raceway when he was hit by a lapped car and went flying off of turn one and into the trees, leaving his #40 machine pretty tore up. On Saturday he was leading the stock car feature when his engine blew.

Johanson Picks Up First Career Win at Devils Lake

MiKara Johanson of Edmore won her first career feature, taking the Pure Stock main event over Daniel Bromstad of Luverne, Saturday night at Devils Lake Speedway.

Dusty Lawson of Minot topped Myles Tomlinson of Turtle Lake for the Western Renegade Non-Winged Sprint win. Adam Sobolik of Grand Forks was third.

Cole Haugland of Brocket topped Jason Halvorson of Devils Lake for the Wissota Midwest Modified feature win. Nate Reynolds of Hoople was fourth and Jory Berg of Grand Forks fifth.

Daniel Aberle of Finley topped Trey Hess of Lakota for the Wissota Street Stock win. Dustin Ebensteiner of Devils Lake was third, Seth Klostreich of Grand Forks fourth and Greg Jose of Grand Forks fifth.

Jeff Crouse won the Wissota Super Stock feature at Viking.

Thoennes, Bangsund Go Back-To-Back at Viking; Crouse, Gronwold Back in Victory Lane

Two drivers won their second straight features Saturday night at Viking Speedway in Alexandria.

Josh Thoennes of Nelson won his second straight Wissota Modified feature with Blake Jegtvig of Hawley taking second. Travis Saurer of Elizabeth was third, Brady Gerdes of Villard fourth and Zach Johnson of Lowry was fifth.

Andrew Bangsund of Alexandria also went back-to-back, earning the Wissota Street Stock win over Ryan Satter of Dent. Jack Koranda of Bluffton was third, Tanner Horn of Wadena fourth and Craig Gardner of Eagle Bend fifth.

Jeff Crouse of Alexandria was back in victory lane in the Wissota Super Stocks, taking the win after starting seventh. Jason Cook of Brandon was second, Jon Crouse of Alexandria third, Karter Reents of Glenwood and Davey Krutchten of Burtrum was fifth.

Brock Gronwold of Fergus Falls was back in victory lane in the Wissota Midwest Modified, taking his second win of the week. Randy Laage of Brooten was second, Shawn Olson of Alexandria third, Avery Anderson of Alexandria fourth and Jason Thimmesh of Garfield fifth.

Rick Nelson of Alexandria topped Zach Tysdal of Fergus Falls for the Limited Late Model win. Dustin Johanneck of Litchfield was second, Tony Robertson of Watkins fourth and Derek Quinn of Brandon fifth.

Saturday Night Notes

Jarrett Carter of Lisbon won the IMCA Modified feature Saturday at Jamestown Speedway. John Nord of Enderlin took second. Dylan Steele of Jamestown topped Travis Edinger of Jamestown for the Pure Stock feature win.

Tye Wilke of Detroit Lakes was second in the INEX Legend feature to Drew Papke of Bismarck.

Brennon Weight of Lamoure is on fire in the Wissota Midwest Modifieds. He has two wins in a row at Sheyenne Speedway in Lisbon and picked up the win at Jamestown on Saturday. Zach Reinke of Lisbon was second, Jaren Wibstad of Jamestown third, Nate Reinke of Lisbon fourth and Rebel Bintz of Jamestown fifth.

Billie Christ of Jamestown is another driver make some serious waves of late. He won the Wissota Street Stock feature at Jamestown, a night after winning the main event at Brown County Speedway in Aberdeen. Todd Carter of Lisbon was third.

Brad Seng of Grand Forks won the NLRA Late Model feature. Ryan Mikkelson of Alexandria was second and Cole Schill of Horace third.

Brad Staples of Herman won the Limited Late Model feature Saturday night at Madison Speedway.

Jamie Thorstad of Morris won the Wissota Midwest Modified feature.

Ryan Johnson of Karlstad won the Wissota Street Stock feature at Greenbush Race Park. Dexter Dvergsten of Greenbush won the POWRi Minn-Kota Lightning Sprint feature.

75 views0 comments
bottom of page