top of page

 Race Chaser Blog Presented By 

DRC logo.png
Blog Posts-PostPg

Thank you to our supporting sponsors

  • tombergie01

RaceChaser 2019 Year in Review

Lucas Rodin won the Wissota MWM feature at the Dakota Dream.

The calendar is soon to turn to 2020, so the RaceChaser decided to do a year in review to highlight some events from 2019.

Here are some stories of note that made the list:


The weather. A ton of rainouts/cancellations because of the cool, wet spring.

25-Reise Stenberg of Argusville won the Jeff Carpenter Memorial Wissota Midwest Modified special at Jamestown Speedway. The win was part of a big year for Stenberg who won track titles at Norman County Raceway and Jamestown.

27-Brule, Wis., driver Brandon Copp made the six-hour trek worthwhile by winning the Jeff Carpenter Memorial at Sheyenne Speedway in Lisbon. A track record 118 cars competed that night.


1-Shane Sabraski of Rice, Minn., won the Advantage RV Tour stop at I-94 Speedway. He won the series championship for 2019.

7-Logan Schuchart won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car special at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks.

23-Sheyenne Speedway in Lisbon hosted the first annual Dakota Dream. Lucas Rodin of Marion won the Wissota Midwest Modified feature. Lisbon driver Jonny Carter won the Wissota Street Stocks while Jordan Sours of Lisbon won the Pure Stocks and Jason Reinke of Moorhead won the Mini Stock.

30-Two first-time winners were crowned at Sheyenne Speedway in Lisbon. That included 12-year-old Cole Greseth of Harwood in the Mini Stock class and Jaren Wibstad of Jamestown in the Wissota Midwest Modified.


13-Hickson, N.D., driver Tyler Peterson won the Advantage RV Tour stop at Greenbush Race Park. Peterson also won both nights of the John Seitz Memorial later in the year and was the Casino Speedway track champ in the Wissota Modified.

13-Don Shaw of Ham Lake won the Bob Gierke Memorial Late Model feature at Viking Speedway over Cole Schill of Horace. Hawley driver Blake Jegtvig won the Wissota Modified feature and Justin Froemming of Garfield won the Wissota Modified feature.

14-Daniel Harstad of Fergus Falls won the Short Tracker title at the King of the Dirt at I-94 Speedway. Ben Wolden of Fergus Falls (Limited Late Model) and Jeremy Nelson (Wissota Modified) were also crowned that night. Harstad won track titles at I-94 and BRRP.

19-West Fargo driver Alyssa White won the first IMCA Hobby Stock feature of her career at Norman County Raceway in Ada. She won three features at the 3/8-mile track this summer.

26-Kyle Dykhoff of Starbuck won the King of the Dirt Wissota Street Stock special at I-94 Speedway. Shane Howell of Buffalo won the Wissota Midwest Modified King of the Dirt.


3-West Fargo driver Jason Berg won the first NLSA Lightning Sprint feature of his career at Buffalo River Race Park.

6-Fargo driver Austin Arneson topped a strong field of IMCA Modified to win the Harris Clash at Deer Creek Speedway.

10-Little Falls driver Landon Atkinson won his first career USMTS race at I-94 Speedway.

16-West Fargo driver Billy Vogel picked up his first career Wissota Late Model feature win at I-94 Speedway.

16-Fargo driver Donny Schatz won the WOO Sprint feature at River Cities Speedway.

18-Starbuck, Minn., driver Haley Lee picked up her first career Wissota Midwest Modified feature at Sheyenne Speedway in Lisbon. The NLRA Late Models were in town that night with eventual national champion Chad Becker winning an eventful-feature.

22-Crookston, Minn., driver Noah Metzger won his first IMCA Sport Mod feature of his career at Norman County Raceway.

23-Dick Johanneck Memorial winners at I-94 Speedway included Brady Gerdes in the Wissota Modified, Don Shaw of Ham Lake in the Wissota Late Models, Brock Gronwold of Fergus Falls in the Wissota Midwest Modified and Ryan Mikkelson of Alexandria in the Limited Late Models. Shaw was crowned the King of the Dirt in the late models

26-Bob Martin won his first NOSA Sprint feature at River Cities Speedway since 2010.

31-Atkinson won the Fallen Linemen Modified special for a second time at Viking Speedway, taking home $2,500 for the win.


8-Canadian driver Aaron Turnbull put together one of the most impressive races of the season, topping a strong late model field to win the $9,200 to win John Seitz Memorial at River Cities Speedway.

14-Justin Vogel of Brooten repeated as the Wissota 100 Street Stock champion at the Wissota 100 at I-94 Speedway. He was the only repeat winner from 2018 at the 100. Atkinson, by the way, also won the Wissota 100 modified title to cap off an incredible month of wins.

21-Horace, N.D., late model driver Cole Schill won the Jamestown Stampede for the first time in his career. Preston Carr of Carrington (Wissota Midwest Modified), Casey Arneson of Fargo (IMCA Modified), Luke Krogh of Dickinson (IMCA Sport Mod) and Donavin Wiest of Wishek (INEX Legends).

Other notes from 2019

—Jonny Carter of Lisbon won the first Wissota Street Stock national title of his career.

—Long-time area drivers Jason Thoennes of Alexandria, Jerry Lamb of Lisbon, Shaun Peterson of Alexandria and Jeff Wildung of Nassau all announced their retirements from driving following the 2019 season.

Grand Forks veteran Brad Seng edged out Winnipeg driver Shane Edginton by eight points to win the NLRA Late Model points title. Edginton won track titles at River Cities and Red River Co-op and finished second to Aberdeen's Chad Becker in the Wissota Late Model national points.

Nick Omdahl of East Grand Forks was crowned the NOSA Sprint Car season champion.

Andrew Jochim of Glyndon was second in the INEX Legends Pro National Points while Detroit Lakes driver Tye Wilke was third.

Moorhead teenager Brody Carlsrud was second in the INEX Legend Semi-Pro national points while Kindred driver Sean Johnson was third.

12-year-old rookie Ashton Spieker of Sabin finished third in the Young Lions National points.

—a total of 21 RaceChaser drivers won their first career features in 2019. A few have been mentioned in this blog; the overall list is long and on a previous blog entry but congrats to all.

184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page