top of page

 Race Chaser Blog Presented By 

DRC logo.png
Blog Posts-PostPg

Thank you to our supporting sponsors

  • tombergie01

Anderson, Reynolds, Sobolik and Richards Win at Devils Lake; Vogel, Gerdes Win at Viking

Kyle Anderson (59) won the $500 to win Wissota Street Stock feature on Saturday.

RaceChaser was back at Devils Lake Speedway on Saturday. There were 55 cars on hand in the four classes, plus the Wissota Midwest Modifieds were running for $1,000 to win while the Pure Stocks and Wissota Street Stocks were each running for $500 to win.

I want to thank the Devils Lake folks, in particular Heather MacDonald, for their hospitality this year. I added Devils Lake as a primary RaceChaser coverage track in June, to see what kind of response it would be in terms of website traffic. As far as the future coverage, I’ll assess that in the offseason when I have time to look at some website statistics.

Kyle Anderson, Nate Reynolds, Steven Richards and Adam Sobolik were winners at the 1/4-mile oval.

Kyle Anderson of Jamestown, interviewed above, had the inside pole for the Wissota Street Stock feature and took firm control from the green. The big battle was for second between Kasey Ussatis of Nome, Trey Hess of Manvel and Joe Potter of Euclid, Minn.

Seth Klostreich of Grand Forks got turned in turns one and two by Greg Jose of Grand Forks and Cody Armstrong of Crary had nowhere to go but hit him; Armstrong got the worst of it with radiator damage that ending his night. Klostreich was able to continue.

The biggest obstacle for Anderson was the cautions that brought Hess and Potter close. Those two continued their battle to the final laps but it was Anderson’s race, and he picked up the $500 win. Anderson entered the year with zero street stock wins but now has five. Hess, who started eighth, finished second and added to his point lead over Klostreich. Potter was third. Jose, who went to the tail for a caution, came back to finish fourth while Ussatis was fifth.

Nate Reynolds (6R) won the midwest modified feature.

The Wissota Midwest Modified feature saw Kyle Lovcik of Rugby take the early lead. Jory Berg of Grand Forks, who won at River Cities Speedway on Friday, was working the lower line and made the pass for the lead.

On the move was season point leader Nate Reynolds of Hoople, who started 11th on the 17-car field. He moved into the top three, and then shot around Berg on the high side to take the lead on his way to the win. Berg ran a strong second with Lovcik third. Matt Schow of McIntosh — who went to the back early in the race — made a great comeback to finish fourth. Reise Stenberg of Argusville started 14th but finished fifth.

Reynolds has the point title at DLS wrapped up, by the way.

A restart totally changed the complexion of the Western Renegade Non-Winged Sprint feature. Cory Palm of Bismarck was in firm control of the feature when the caution came out with nine to go. Palm, however, was passed quickly on the start and faded, and that opened the door for the 17-year-old Adam Sobolik of Grand Forks, interviewed above, who made the pass into the lead.

Sobolik is a rookie to the non-winged sprints, but raced motocross for 13 years. He didn’t make any mistakes to pick up career victory #1. Kevin Lawson of Minot was second, Stan Tomlinson of Turtle Lake third, Joel Larson of Fertile, Minn., fourth and Myles Tomlinson of Turtle Lake worked into fifth at the checkered.

Speaking of Myles Tomlinson, he has to be pleased with the way the first year has gone at Devils Lake in the non-winged sprints. There were 14 on hand on Saturday, plus you got a first time winner from almost the immediate area.

Stoney Kruk of Langdon and Steven Richards led the 10-car Pure Stock field to the green. Richards took the lead with Kruk in second and season point leader Joe Armstrong in third. Brock Beeter of Minot was on the move, moving into fourth.

A caution came out with three to go for a spin in turn two, and that brought Armstrong and Beeter up to the bumper of Richards. Richards didn’t flinch despite some pressure from Armstrong, who had his hands full with Beeter. Richards won for the fifth time this season at DLS with Armstrong, Beeter, Kruk and Dan Arends of Devils Lake finishing the top five. Despite the $500 to win, which sometimes turns into a demo derby on shorter tracks, itwas a good clean Pure Stock race.

Armstrong has a commanding lead in the point standings heading into next weekend.

Viking Speedway Wins to Gerdes, Gronwold, Mikkelson, Vogel and Saurer

Brady Gerdes of Villard topped Blake Jegtvig of Hawley for the Wissota Modified win Saturday night at Viking Speedway in Alexandria. Zach Johnson of Lowry was third, Josh Thoennes of Nelson fourth and Danny Bayer of Elrosa fifth.

Justin Vogel of Brooten won the Wissota Street Stock feature Saturday night at Viking Speedway in Alexandria. Jack Koranda of Bluffton was second, Andrew Bangsund of Alexandria third, Ryan Satter of Dent fourth and Brett Miller of Alexandria fifth.

Brock Gronwold of Fergus Falls is up to 20 wins in the Wissota Midwest Modified class after picking up another win at Viking Speedway. Corey Storck of Morris, who won at I-94 on Friday, was second, Brendan Blascyk of Kensington, who has two wins at Viking this year, was third. Sam Zender of Fergus Falls and Ron Saurer of Dalton was fifth. A great 20-car field was on hand in the midwest mods.

Trevor Saurer of Dalton won the Wissota Super Stock feature over Matt Miller of Glenwood. Jason Cook of Brandon was third, Karter Reents of of Glenwood fourth and Davey Krutchen of Burtrum was fifth.

Ryan Mikkelson of Alexandria picked up another Limited Late Model win over Scott Lehn of Albany. Rick Nelson of Alexandria was third, Greg Umlaut of Rothsay was fourth and Blake Saathoff of Alexandria was fifth.

Dustin Johanneck (Limited Late Models), Gronwold, Gerdes, Satter and Saurer were crowned Viking track champions.

Saturday Night Notes

--Brad Staples of Herman won the Limited Late Model feature Saturday night at Madison Speedway in Madison, Minn.

Eric Riley of Morris won the Wissota Street Stock feature over Mike Jans of Clarkfield. Maria Broksieck of Goodwin, S.D., was third.

Tye Wilke of Detroit Lakes wrapped up his third track championship of 2020 with a feature win in the INEX Legends at Jamestown Speedway. Wilke also won track titles at Red River Valley and Norman County Raceway.

Nate Reinke of Lisbon was second in the Wissota Midwest Modified feature with Brennon Weight of LaMoure taking third. Tracy Johnson of Lake Preston, S.D., won the race. Jaren Wibstad of Jamestown was fourth with Aaron Michel of Jamestown fifth.

Billie Christ of Jamestown topped Bob Banish Jr. of Milnor for the Wissota Street Stock win. Royce Jawaski of Horace was third, Jay Schlotfeldt of Jamestown fourth.

Casey Arneson of Fargo won the IMCA Modified feature. Allen Kent of West Fargo was third while Jarrett Carter of Lisbon was fifth.

Dylan Steele of Jamestown won the Bomber track championship. Wilke, Reinke, Christ, and John Nord (IMCA Modifieds) were also crowned track champs.

--Ryan Johnson of Karlstad won the Wissota Street Stock feature at Greenbush Race Park on Saturday. It was his second win in as many nights.

154 views0 comments
bottom of page